Escape the Algorithmic Abyss: How I Broke Free from the Binge-Watch Trap

How much time have you spent browsing for a good show or a movie? Have you, like me, explored, binged, seen this and seen that, seen most of the stuff online? If you, like me, have that luxury of free time, no responsibilities, and are open to a variety of art, then I am sure by now you know that the ‘recommended for you’ part of the algorithm really doesn’t work as well as it did a few years ago.

Last year in December, I turned to books after finding nothing proper to watch on our most beloved platform. Earlier in the year, I had finished reading The Witcher series, which simply had to be done. The show had not been faithful to the version of the story; it had moved far away from the source material. I had just finished reading Baptism of Fire, and I was so disappointed by the latest season that one – I completed the series in about ten days, and two – I understood why Henry Cavill walked away from the show. After finishing the books, I simply did not understand how a business proposal could not be built for having this franchise running for 10 years? There is more than enough content, more than enough characters, more than enough plots, story lines, and time lines. The story is gripping, dark (so dark…too dark), exciting, and thrilling. Andrzej clearly enjoys writing, and I think the elements of psychological realism infused into each character’s journey add layers of complexity to the narrative, which is beautiful.

Seeking refuge from the transient nature of modern entertainment, I turned to good old Stephen King last December after having read Fairy Tale and Holly earlier in the year. The ‘King of Horror’ seemed like a safe choice. Stephen King is a fantastic storyteller. If you are an aspiring writer and haven’t read his On Writing, please do. At the core of King’s writing lies a profound understanding of human emotions, not just fears. His stories tap into universal concerns and anxieties that resonate well with readers everywhere. He has published 77 works and sold over 400 million books. He is 75 and still building worlds with characters who grapple with real-world challenges – easily relatable and authentic. His books are easy to read and page-turners, but you must read enough to appreciate the meticulous control of pacing and tension. I am a long way away from having completed reading all of his works, and I am bound to like some more than others but content-wise King’s stories have not yet left me in with content fatigue.

One other author that I have enjoyed reading is Fredrik Backman. I have read all of his books and eagerly await his next work. His stories have made me laugh, and they have made me cry. While Backman’s novels share common threads of human connection and understanding, he explores diverse themes. From exploring sports culture in “Beartown” to examining ageing and friendship in “My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She’s Sorry,” his versatility as an author is evident.

In the era of ‘I am ok with failure as long as I can Instagram it‘, the demand for well-constructed narratives seems overshadowed by the race for quantity over quality. While technological advancements have granted us access to abundant content, the essence of storytelling, the ability to create worlds that resonate, seems to be waning. Don’t even get me started on the cheap ploys constantly being used to bait audiences into watching something. The latest example of this is the movie Argylle -Henry Cavill was the centrepiece of promotion for this film. But Cavill is hardly in the movie. They could have diverted all the promotion money into Cavill’s fee, or they could have been honest. It is a quick win, no doubt. But it is also cheating.

My husband asks me – why are you disappointed? Don’t you see where they are coming from? What do you expect? No one is in the game for the long run, and they want to move on to the next big thing. Do the bare minimum to get noticed and get trending.

It has taken me years to appreciate the value of deep work and slow productivity. Once you get used to having autonomy over your own time, where you spend it becomes the core governing basis of your existence. I am perhaps a demanding consumer, but I don’t see a reason not to be.

In a world drowning in content, succumbing to the allure of quick wins is easy. Confidence in your art takes time to develop. As we navigate the sea of algorithms and trending fads, let us not forget the enduring power of a well-crafted narrative. Stories that last. Stories that linger. Characters who haunt your waking monotony. Here’s to embracing the slow burn, savouring the depth, and demanding more from the content we consume because, after nourishment, shelter and companionship, good stories are what we need the most in the world.

Author: pecsbowen

reader.philosopher.writer

I would love to hear your thoughts on this -