Completely Brand New

images

In those early days of curiosity, when not everything is known, while he sat across her having coffee, he asked,“so, what was he like?”

She looked at him, took off her spectacles and rubbed her eyes. “You know darling, I read a quote a while ago. It said – I know that’s what people say – you’ll get over it. I’d say that too. But I know it’s not true. Oh, you’ll be happy again, never fear. But you won’t forget. Every time you fall in love it will be because something in the man reminds you of him.”

She leaned forward and held his hand.

“I know I have been mean to you, I know I have been distant and sometimes I have been just very cold. And you have been so patient with me, you have been around and I like that you have been around, it is nice and warm and soft and I love that which we have right now, I love that which we are trying to build together.

And I know you care for me, maybe not so much as you will in the future, but right now in your own manner and measure you do. And it is because of this caring that I am asking you to never ask me that question again.

Firstly, because I don’t remember, secondly because I do not want to remember.

I want this what we have between us to be fresh, I want it to be free from any past prints, I want it to be completely brand new. I want to fall in love with you from the beginning, from the start, from the first page.”

Author: pecsbowen

reader.philosopher.writer

2 thoughts on “Completely Brand New”

I would love to hear your thoughts on this -

