Under Wear

Today morning while I sat in a temple near the sea, taking in the sounds of nature, breathing in and out, forgetting my body and meditating all I could think of was underwear. Not my underwear, just under wear in general.

It began with how often should one change their under wear. I see how that can be misinterpretated. You would say – silly, of course daily. No, no. That’s not what I meant, I meant how often should one buy new under wear.

I meditate in a group. Group meditations are more effective, at least for me. I think it is the external discipline. When 12 people are sitting and breathing in and out, one just can’t get up and walk away. I have done that too, though often I get along just fine.

People around me were going deeper into their selves and here I was thinking of an equation to find a time period of underwear replacement depending largely on wear, tear and usability. And then I went on a trip thinking how did underwear come into existence. Who was the first human to think – a cloth up and a cloth down and more clothes on top of that. I knew in that moment that I was going to go home and google a brief history of panty-kind ( please don’t google that, the last word is a bad keyword for a search, just google instead, if you must, who invented the underwear).

This search beats my previous search of – how do earthworms have babies?

Today I feel furtively enlightened.

 

 

Author: pecsbowen

reader.philosopher.writer

I would love to hear your thoughts on this -

