Short Story prompt

So I was recently asked –

What is the best short story you can write with this excerpt?
“You have the ability that lets you know exactly what to say to someone at any given moment that would cause them to break down in tears.”

After a little thought –
IMG_8559

In a hotel room, somewhere near Brent Park –

I have always wanted to lead this kind of life you know, be at a place for a few months, then move on to another city or town. I mean(laughs) who wouldn’t want to right? Do you know what it is like to stay in one place for years at an end – see the same people everyday, same conversations, nothing changes, nothing at all, do you know what that is like?

In a cafe, somewhere in Halásztelek –

It was difficult at first. Before I could even begin to understand it, it felt wrong, just wrong. I mean those were crazy days – first to deal with the hormones and then this. I felt like there was something wrong with me. I also felt guilty.

In a hotel room, somewhere near Brent Park –

I have always wanted to lead this kind of life you know, be at a place for a few months, then move on to another city or town. I mean(laughs) who wouldn’t want to right? Do you know what it is like to stay in one place for years at an end – see the same people everyday, same conversations, nothing changes, nothing at all, do you know what that is like?

In a cafe, somewhere in Halásztelek –

It was difficult at first. Before I could even begin to understand it, it felt wrong, just wrong. I mean those were crazy days – first to deal with the hormones and then this. I felt like there was something wrong with me. I also felt guilty.

A little below the peak of Mt. Apo, Davao City

But I learned soon, like all of mankind does eventually. It is amazing what you can do once you rekindle your will to live. It adds a little more meaning to your existence, I think that is how most of us live. I don’t know, I have never been sure, especially after the shades of people I have seen in all of my life.

Walking in the streets of Firostefani
This nation is going to dogs. I feel bad for the people here. It is almost so sad how the government has behaved that I could almost cry. Almost.

But I cannot cry. I just don’t know what to say to myself. I have tried it, you know – to stand in front of the mirror, look into my own eyes try to peer into my soul and say those words. But all I see is…. ( smiling at a man passing by then turning towards me looking into my eyes) …well I really don’t see anything.
Author: pecsbowen

reader.philosopher.writer

I would love to hear your thoughts on this -

