Women, sex and dreams

I have always been surrounded by strong women.
I have grown up with resilient women.
I have seen incredible women, women who make men look like jokes.

In the afternoon today, I sat thinking – why do I find it so reassuringly warm that the women that I see are perfectionists, they never back down from taking responsibility and they always find a way to get any task done. I am like them sometimes, sometimes when I am in love.

A moment later realization dawned that my warmth for these incredible women came from a place of dark stereotyped beliefs. I felt happy seeing them because they were not mainstream women. Somewhere in my head I had subconsciously accepted the inferior status of women. How silly of me, you might say.

Women make better managers than men, women are more intelligent than men, women are more emphatic than men, women are mothers they are natured to care to provide to grow to cherish. But I don’t have to tell you this. You can see it for yourself, you can see it all around you – your mother, your sister, your girlfriend, your girl friends.

It takes years as a women to unlearn what you have been taught to be sorry for.

But.

Broken dreams are not gender specific, unrealised potential has nothing to do with your sex. Every human who spends the early days of his life living in the guilt associated with his existence –  sex, education, intelligence, status, height, weight, caste, colour, money, popularity – gradually learns in a very painful manner that none of it matters. Your life comes to that every second of that every hour of that every single day, day after day after day.

People say time is limited. People say time is money. People say a lot of things. But as you grow older, with every passing second you realise – what a load of shit.

woman-artist

Author: pecsbowen

reader.philosopher.writer

I would love to hear your thoughts on this -

