A cracked song from my bookcase

I picked a book and gave it to my brother today. I have been trying to get him to read booksbookcase
which I think will do him good and books which I think he should read – The Selfish Gene, The Old Man and the Sea, The Blind Watchmaker, Tolstoy – a Confession and many more. No fancy reading habits were handed down to us by our parents. Instead we were taught the importance of honesty, hard work and transparency.

I guess that is why all my books fit in this one bookcase.

I had a date a few months ago. The guy had an impressive room – a side of the wall was full of shelves with so many books, a drum set, two guitars, old cupboards and a simple bed. He told me that some of the books on those shelves belonged to his great grandfather. And then he sang a song or two for me. He was cute.


One of his songs took me back in time when I had written something – fractured and cracked –

Damaged she was, broken he was,
cracks in fate bound them together.
The tainted scripture, their perfect picture.

I think the first two of the above are not mine. But I love those words – cracks in fate.

Coming back to the hot guy with the guitar, I asked him to sing another song –

As the winter winds litter London with lonely hearts
Oh the warmth in your eyes swept me into your arms

I wish he had sung this or played it atleast. But I guess that was asking for too much. It was a good night though – Jim Beam, live music and a couple of smokes – a very good night that was .


In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Final Trio.”

<a href=”https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/final-trio/”>Final Trio</a>


Author: pecsbowen

reader.philosopher.writer

I would love to hear your thoughts on this -

