“Foreclosure” – Lorine Niedecker

Tell em to take my bare walls down
my cement abutments
their parties thereof
and clause of claws

Leave me the land
Scratch out: the land

May prose and property both die out
and leave me peace

My words on hers – The parallel between the taking away of the house and the taking away of rules in this poem is hard to miss. Another thing quite hard to miss is the obsession of the poet with the constricted form of prose. She just wants to be left in peace, she just wants them to leave her alone, leave her be with her land and her poetry.

niedecker

Author: pecsbowen

reader.philosopher.writer

I would love to hear your thoughts on this -

