I dont know what this poem is called

and am too lazy google it…but nevertheless

 
If I were mild, and I were sweet,
And laid my heart before your feet,
And took my dearest thoughts to you,
And hailed your easy lies as true;
Were I to murmur “Yes,” and then
“How true, my dear,” and “Yes,” again,
And wear my eyes discreetly down,
And tremble whitely at your frown,
And keep my words unquestioning
My love, you’d run like anything!

Should I be frail, and I be mad,

And share my heart with every lad,
But beat my head against the floor
What times you wandered past my door;
Were I to doubt, and I to sneer,
And shriek “Farewell!” and still be here,
And break your joy, and quench your trust-
I should not see you for the dust!

Author: pecsbowen

reader.philosopher.writer

I would love to hear your thoughts on this -

